IFJA announces Year End Movie Winners!

On Sunday, the members of the Indiana Film Journalists Association gathered together at the Mesh Restaurant on Mass Avenue downtown to debate and present arguments for their top choices in every category. What was really great about this year was just how many fantastic movies and actors we had nominated! For me, it was especially difficult to narrow down and decide winners in Director and Screenwriting since there were so many strong choices in those areas.

What really stands out on our lists and surprised even ourselves a little is the mutual love for “How To Train Your Dragon.” Usually Pixar and Disney are VERY strong contenders and this year’s “Toy Story 3” and “Tangled” are no exception, but this time Dreamworks’ boy and his dragon story won our hearts with its imaginative narrative.

“The Social Network” won two awards including Best Film of the Year and Best Screenplay and “Inception” also won two awards including Original Vision Award and Best Director.

James Franco was award Best Actor for “127 Hours”, the film where he performed a one man show of pain and determination and Best Supporting Actor went to Christian Bale for his performance as Dicky Eklund, former boxer and crack addict in “The Fighter.”

Best Actress went to Natalie Portman’s double-sided performance in “Black Swan” and the closest race for votes was in Best Supporting Actress where young Hailee Steinfeld won out for “True Grit.”

Check out below for a complete list of winners and the top 10 list of Best Films that I’m happy to report includes “Scott Pilgrim vs The World” – my third favorite film I saw this year.

Best Film of the Year
Winner: “The Social Network”
Runner-up: “Inception”
Other Finalists: “127 Hours,” “Black Swan,” “Exit Through the Gift Shop,” “The Fighter,” “Never Let Me Go,” “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World,” “True Grit,” “Winter’s Bone”

Best Animated Film
Winner: “How to Train Your Dragon”
Runner-up: “Toy Story 3″

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: “Lebanon”
Runner-up: “Biutiful”

Best Documentary
Winner: “Exit Through the Gift Shop”
Runner-up: “The Tillman Story”

Best Screenplay
Winner: Aaron Sorkin, “The Social Network”
Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, “Inception”

Best Director
Winner: Christopher Nolan, “Inception”
Runner-up: Debra Granik, “Winter’s Bone”

Best Actress
Winner: Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”
Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone”

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Hailee Steinfeld, “True Grit”
Runner-up: Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”

Best Actor
Winner: James Franco, “127 Hours”
Runner-up: Jesse Eisenberg, “The Social Network”

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Christian Bale, “The Fighter”
Runner-up: John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone”

Original Vision Award
Winner: “Inception”
Runner-up: “127 Hours”

The Hoosier Award
Winner: Andie Redwine, writer/producer of “Paradise Recovered”

About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009 with six founding members, and has since expanded its roster to 11. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.

Bob Bloom, Lafayette Journal & Courier
Caine Gardner, Greencastle Banner-Graphic, The Film Yap.com
Eric Harris, Canneltoncritic.com, The Perry County News
Lou Harry, Indianapolis Business Journal
Ed Johnson-Ott, NUVO Newsweekly
Christopher Lloyd, The Film Yap.com, The Current
Richard Propes, The Independent Critic.com
Nick Rogers, Suite101.com, The Film Yap.com
Joe Shearer, The Film Yap.com, Indy.com
Matthew Socey, WFYI
Gina Wagner, IndyMojo.com / HauntedFlower.com

My Podcast